Tending the Garden

August 3, 2010 § 1 Comment

And every man that hath this hope in him  purifieth himself,
even as he is pure.”
– I John 3:3

Recently, my husband and I moved to our new home in the country. Driving to our new house, I often noticed my neighbors outside tending their gardens.

Having lived in the suburbs most of my life, there was never room for a garden. Now that I lived in the country, I wanted a garden of my own. When the next spring came, we tilled a small area and planted a few vegetables.

Each day, I would don my garden attire and set out to tend my new garden. I pulled weeds, sprayed for bugs, and hoed the rows until my little garden looked as cared for as I could make it. I waved to my neighbors as they tended their gardens.

I did everything I knew to tend to my little garden. There was one thing I never did, though. I never went to my neighbors to tend their gardens. They never came to mine either. We tended, we purified our own gardens.

I learned many lessons during that first year. I did not create the soil, the seed, or the rain it needed to grow. But, I did tend the garden. I kept as many insects and weeds and small animals from it as possible. I purified our garden as best I could.

Our lives are much like this. We have the hope that God plants in us as sons and daughters. There is much we cannot control in our lives. There is also much we can. Every child of God who has this hope purifies himself, even as he is pure.

Because of the hope He gives us, we are driven to purify ourselves.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Tending the Garden

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tending the Garden at Pursuing Purity.

meta